SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTORS REGULAR MEETING JANUARY 9, 2023

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 5:30 p.m. in the District Office Board Room at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Scott Trautman, Greta Gruys, Sonja Hamm, and Kerri McKim. Also present were David Smith-Superintendent, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber, Board Secretaries/Treasurers, the Administration/Department Team, 5 staff members and 6 visitors.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Gruys/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the agenda.

Trautman/McKim moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda including the following: A) Minutes of the December 12 regular meeting and December 19 special meeting; B) Claims for payment of \$202,444.42; C) Open enrollment out applications to Okoboji for Stella Gonsalez. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Doug Stueven and Nancy Kriener presented on the 4th grade Immigration simulation. Nancy also gave an update on the Elementary being an Energy Bus School.

Financial Report/Public Report was presented by Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber.

Trautman/Hamm moved/seconded to approve a request to the School Budget Review Committee for Modified Supplemental Amount and Supplemental Aid for the 2023-2024 Dropout Prevention Program in the amount of \$432,882 for expenditures necessary to implement the 2023-2024 at-risk and dropout prevention program plans as approved by the Spirit Lake CSD school board. Roll call vote was taken. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/McKim moved/seconded to update competitive bid and quote thresholds to Board Policy 903.1 and 903.1E1. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Hamm/Trautman moved/seconded to approve early retirement requests for 5 applicants (Arthur Hellert, Sally Ites, Jan Mitchell, Jill Tepfer, and Lori Thompson), who met the requirements. All aye vote. Motion carried. Sally Ites addressed the board.

Trautman/McKim moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:08 p.m.

Jane Loveall Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President