SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S PUBLIC HEARING NOVEMBER 14, 2022

A Public Hearing was held at 5:25 p.m. for the purpose of receiving bids for 3 school buses. Dave Dau read the submitted bids. After discussion, with no additional bids present, the President closed the public hearing. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Scott Trautman, Sonja Hamm, Kerri McKim and Greta Gruys. Also present were David Smith-Superintendent, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber-Co-Directors of Business & Finance, the Administration/Department Team, School Attorney Steve Avery, 8 staff members, 30 visitors, and 5 students. The hearing was closed at 5:29 p.m.

SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S ANNUAL MEETING/REGULAR MEETING NOVEMBER 14, 2022

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 5:30 p.m. in the District Office Board Room at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Scott Trautman, Kerri McKim, Sonja Hamm, and Greta Gruys. Also present were David Smith-Superintendent, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber, Board Secretaries/Treasurers, School Attorney Steve Avery, the Administration/Department Team, 8 staff members, 36 visitors and 5 students.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Hamm/McKim moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Board Secretary, Ashley Weber called the annual meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Nominations were received for the office of President. Teresa Beck received a nomination. With a ballot vote of 5 to 0, Teresa Beck was elected President of the School Board. Board Secretary, Ashley Weber, administered the oath of office to Teresa Beck, President.

Nominations were received for the office of Vice President. Scott Trautman received a nomination. With a ballot vote of 5 to 0, Scott Trautman was elected Vice President of the School Board. Board Secretary, Ashley Weber, administered the oath of office to Scott Trautman, Vice President.

Board President, Teresa Beck then took over the Board meeting.

Gruys/McKim moved/seconded to approve Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber as Board Secretaries and Board Treasurers for the Spirit Lake Community School District. All aye vote. Motion carried. Teresa Beck administered the oath of office to Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber, Board Secretaries/Board Treasurers.

Hamm/Trautman moved/seconded to approve the start time of regular monthly board meetings at 5:30 p.m. on the second Monday each month. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/McKim moved/seconded to designate Dickinson County News as the official publisher for the Spirit Lake Community School District. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/Gruys moved/seconded to designate Steve Avery for Spirit Lake School legal counsel. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/McKim moved/seconded to approve the board assignments for 2022-2023 as follows: Greta Gruys - IASB Delegate, Keri McKim - Alternate IASB Delegate, Scott Trautman - Legislative Representative, Scott Trautman - County Conference Board, Kerri McKim/Greta Gruys - Review Financial Report/Claims for Payment, Sonja Hamm- District Improvement Team/District Cabinet, Teresa Beck & Greta Gruys - Spirit Lake School Foundation, and Sonja Hamm - Multi-Cultural Gender Fair Advisory Committee. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Ashley Weber presented a review of documents for the annual reconciliation of books.

Trautman/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda as presented including the following: A) Minutes of the October 10 regular meeting and the November 9 special meeting; B) Claims for payment of \$361,721.03; C) Employment of Dana Bergman as HS Asst Girls/Boys Wrestling Coach, Eric Burnette as HS Asst Girls Wrestling Coach, Matthew Coy as HS Asst Softball Coach, Autumn Eckard as Preschool Van Driver, Mind Leinbaugh as HS Basketball Cheer Coach, Andrew Lundgren as HS Asst Girls Wrestling Coach, Sabrina Sheeler as ES Associate, John Tuttle as HS Asst Boys Wrestling Coach, and Jackson Wajda as MS Associate; Resignations of Stephanie Beck as ES Associate and Curtis Frease as Activity Bus Driver; D) Open enrollment applications in to Spirit Lake for Braelynn Fauth and Samuel Weatherman from Okoboji and Kade Payton from Estherville; out to Okoboji for Blakeley Anderson, Grace, Hunter and Zoey Daisy, Blaise Elwood, Tegan Graves, Rhett Roberts and Calliope Rodriguez; E) Winter Officials Contracts for 2022-23; F) Debate Cooperative Sharing Agreement with Okoboji. All aye vote. Motion carried.

High School Principal Casey O'Rourke, HS Teacher Parker Mulder and 5 students presented on the new Unified PE class that Mr. Mulder started at Spirit Lake High School.

Financial Report was presented by Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber.

Dr. Smith and Brad Beck explained the significant donation received from the Seemann family and the Dorothy B. Davis Foundation which will be used to construct a community park starting in 2023.

Gruys/Trautman moved/seconded to approve the Agreement for Aspen Seemann Memorial Park on SLCSD property, in the City of Spirit Lake. Teresa Beck abstained. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/McKim moved/seconded to approve the naming of Aspen Seemann Memorial Park, Brown Family Athletic Complex, and John C. Brown Monument Plaza. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Hamm/Gruys moved/seconded to approve the adoption of the 2022-23 Early Retirement package. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/McKim moved/seconded to approve the addition of the Girls MS Wrestling Coach position to Schedule B. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/Hamm moved/seconded to approve a resolution to buy 3 buses from School Bus Sales. Roll Call vote: Hamm, Gruys, Trautman, Beck, McKim. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Hamm moved/seconded to approve request for a modified supplemental amount of \$163,086 for increased enrollment and \$7,227 for open enrolled out students who were not included in the district's previous year certified enrollment count. Ayes: 5 Nays: 0. Motion carried by a vote of 5 to 0.

McKim/Trautman moved/seconded to approve the 2022-2023 board goals as presented. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Angela Olsen presented an additional resource for mental health available to our district. This service would provide a 24-Hour counseling helpline and virtual counseling sessions for our students and their families.

Hamm/Gruys moved/seconded to approve the contract with Employee & Family Resources for mental health services. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Angela Olsen presented on the district's enrollment numbers and on the district's results from the Iowa School Performance Profile.

Dr. Smith and Angela Olsen presented the first draft of the Spirit Lake Safety Plan. Kate Mendenhall and Ryan Lee addressed the Board. The plan is available for staff/public comment until Monday, November 21. Final draft will be presented at a Special Meeting on Monday, November 28 at 7:00 p.m. in the District Office Board Room.

McKim/Trautman moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 7:41 p.m.

Jane Loveall Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President