SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S REGULAR MEETING NOVEMBER 18, 2019

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 4:30 p.m. in the District Office Board Room at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members Teresa Beck, outgoing Keith Brockmeyer, new member Greta Gruys, Sonja Hamm, Kerri McKim, Scott Trautman. Also present were David Smith-Superintendent, Donna Sebert-Board Secretary, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber-Co-Directors of Business & Finance, the Administration/Department Team, 3 staff members and 3 students.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Hamm/Trautman moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Brockmeyer/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the minutes of the October 8 work session and October 14 regular meeting/public hearing. All aye vote. Motion carried.

The Abstract of Votes showing the votes cast in the regular school board election held on November 12, 2019 was reviewed. Teresa Beck (500 votes), Greta Gruys (506 votes) and Sonja Hamm (511 votes) were elected to the office of Directors. McKim/Trautman moved/seconded to accept the abstract of votes as presented. All Aye vote. Motion carried.

Ashley Weber presented a review of documents for the annual reconciliation of books.

Retiring board member, Keith Brockmeyer, was recognized and thanked for his 8 years of service. Trautman/Hamm moved/seconded to adjourn the meeting of the retiring board. All aye vote. Motion

carried. Meeting adjourned at 4:38 p.m.

Donna Sebert, Board Secretary, called the organizational meeting to order at 4:39 p.m.

Board Secretary, Donna Sebert, administered the oath of office to elected board members Teresa Beck, Greta Gruys and Sonja Hamm.

Nominations were received for the office of President. Teresa Beck received a nomination. With a ballot vote of 5 to 0, Teresa Beck was elected President of the School Board. Board Secretary, Donna Sebert, administered the oath of office to Teresa Beck, President.

Nominations were received for the office of Vice President. Scott Trautman received a nomination. With a ballot vote of 5 to 0, Scott Trautman was elected Vice President of the School Board. Board Secretary, Donna Sebert, administered the oath of office to Scott Trautman, Vice President.

Board President, Teresa Beck, then took over the Board meeting.

Hamm/McKim moved/seconded to approve Donna Sebert as Board Secretary for the Spirit Lake Community School District. All aye vote. Motion carried. Teresa Beck administered the oath of office to Donna Sebert, Board Secretary.

Trautman/Hamm moved/seconded to approve Ashley Weber & Jane Loveall as Co-Board Treasurers for the Spirit Lake Community School District. All aye vote. Motion carried. Teresa Beck administered the oath of office to Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber, Board Co-Treasurers.

Gruys/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the start time of regular monthly board meetings at 5:30 p.m. on the second Monday each month. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/McKim moved/seconded to designate Dickinson County News as the official publisher for the Spirit Lake Community School District. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/Gruys moved/seconded to designate Steve Avery for Spirit Lake School legal counsel. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/McKim moved/seconded to approve the board assignments for 2019-2020 as follows: Kerri McKim - IASB Delegate, Greta Gruys - Alternate IASB Delegate, Scott Trautman - Legislative Representative, Scott Trautman - County Conference Board, Kerri McKim - Review Financial Report/Claims for Payment, Sonja Hamm- District Improvement Team/District Cabinet, Teresa Beck & Greta Gruys - Spirit Lake School Foundation, and Sonja Hamm - Multi-Cultural Gender Fair Advisory Committee. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda as presented including the following: A) Claims for payment of \$578,776.40; B) Employment of Kathryn Boe & Brooke Vance as MS Associates; C) Open enrollment applications into Spirit Lake from Estherville for Izaiah Handt, from HLP for Logan Meyer & Seth Schrag, from Okoboji for Kollin Milbrath and out to HLP for Ramsey Aboamera and to Okoboji for Blake, Emma & Hunter Abrahamson; D) Winter Officials Contracts for 2019-20; E)Contracted Services for Special Education with MOC-Floyd Valley CSD. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Friederich, Mrs. Hoaglund & 3 students presented on a HS ESports video game curriculum pilot with five sophomores during first semester. The course will achieve rigorous English standards together with Entrepreneurship.

Financial Report/Budget Update was presented by Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber.

FEH Design Master Agreement, Early Childhood Center Service Agreement, and Certified Testing Services, Inc. proposals were reviewed with the Board by Dr. Smith. Gruys/Hamm moved/seconded to accept the FEH Design Master Agreement, Early Childhood Center Service Agreement, and Certified Testing Services, Inc. proposal as presented. 4 aye votes. 1 abstained. Motion carried.

Trautman/McKim moved/seconded to approve 2019-2020 board goals as presented. All aye vote. Motion carried.

McKim/Hamm moved/seconded to approve board policy #803.1–Approval and Payment for Goods and Services as presented. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/Hamm moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 5:22 p.m.

Donna Sebert Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President