## SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S REGULAR MEETING NOVEMBER 20, 2023

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 5:30 p.m. in the District Office Board Room at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members re-elected Teresa Beck, re-elected Sonja Hamm, re-elected Greta Gruys, re-elected Jeromy Mouw (call-in), and Luke Lundt. Also present were David Smith-Superintendent, newly elected board member Mieka Stecker, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber, Board Secretaries/Treasurers, Officer Vos, the Administration/Department Team, 1 staff member, 8 visitors, and 3 students.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Hamm/Lundt moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Lundt moved/seconded to approve the minutes of the October 9 regular meeting/public hearing. All aye vote. Motion carried.

The Abstract of Votes showing the votes cast in the regular school board election held on November 7, 2023 was reviewed. Teresa Beck (1,556 votes), Sonja Hamm (1,485 votes), Greta Gruys (1,539 votes), Jeromy Mouw (1,441 votes), and Mieka Stecker (1,377 votes) were elected to the office of Directors. Lundt/Mouw moved/seconded to accept the abstract of votes as presented. All Aye vote. Motion carried.

Ashley Weber presented a review of documents for the annual reconciliation of books.

Re-elected board members Teresa Beck, Sonja Hamm, Greta Gruys and Jeromy Mouw were recognized. Newly elected board member Mieka Stecker was also recognized.

Retiring board member Luke Lundt was recognized and thanked for his service.

Hamm/Gruys moved/seconded to adjourn the meeting of the retiring board. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 5:36 p.m.

The organizational meeting was called to order at 5:36 p.m.

Board Secretary, Ashley Weber, administered the oath of office to elected board members Teresa Beck, Sonja Hamm, Greta Gruys, Jeromy Mouw and Mieka Stecker.

Nominations were received for the office of President. Teresa Beck received a nomination. With a ballot vote of 5 to 0, Teresa Beck was elected President of the School Board. Board Secretary, Ashley Weber, administered the oath of office to Teresa Beck, President.

Nominations were received for the office of Vice President. Sonja Hamm received a nomination. With a ballot vote of 5 to 0, Sonja Hamm was elected Vice President of the School Board. Board Secretary, Ashley Weber, administered the oath of office to Sonja Hamm, Vice President.

Board President, Teresa Beck, then took over the Board meeting.

Stecker/Hamm moved/seconded to approve Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber as Board Secretaries and Board Treasurers for the Spirit Lake Community School District. All aye vote. Motion carried. Teresa Beck administered the oath of office to Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber, Board Secretaries/Board Treasurers.

Mouw/Gruys moved/seconded to approve the start time of regular monthly board meetings at 5:30 p.m. on the second Monday each month. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Stecker/Hamm moved/seconded to designate Dickinson County News as the official publisher for the Spirit Lake Community School District. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Mouw moved/seconded to designate Steve Avery for Spirit Lake School legal counsel. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Hamm/Gruys moved/seconded to approve the board assignments for 2023-2024 as follows: Greta Gruys - IASB Delegate, Mieka Stecker - Alternate IASB Delegate, Jeromy Mouw - Legislative Representative, Teresa Beck - County Conference Board, Jeromy Mouw/Mieka Stecker - Review Financial Report/Claims for Payment, Sonja Hamm- District Improvement Team/District Cabinet, Teresa Beck & Greta Gruys - Spirit Lake School Foundation, and Sonja Hamm - Multi-Cultural Gender Fair Advisory Committee. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Stecker/Mouw moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda as presented including the following: A) Claims for payment of \$375,705.23; B) Employment of Oliver Eckman as ES Custodian, Teresa Jimenez as HS Associate, Baylee Lundgren as ES Associate, and John Walz as 7<sup>th</sup> Boys Basketball Coach; Resignation of Luke Miller as HS Head Drama, Kassi Schettler as ES Associate; C) Open enrollment applications in to Spirit Lake for Broxton Suaza and Madison O'Brien; Out to Harris Lake Park for Madison Bastman, Adam Wieck and Megan Wieck; out to Okoboji for Alana Jones and Kyrie King; D) Winter Officials Contracts for 2023-24; E) Special Education contract with Independence CSD; F) Classroom Clinic Agreement. All aye vote. Motion carried.

The Middle School presented on School of the Wild.

Financial Report was presented by Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber.

Mouw/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the request for a modified supplemental amount of \$21,378 for increased enrollment; \$94,804 for open enrolled out students who were not included in the district's previous year certified enrollment count; and \$1,603 for ELL students served beyond five years. Ayes: 5 Nays: 0. Motion carried by a vote of 5 to 0.

Stecker/Gruys moved/seconded the sale of the 2006 Dodge Caravan to Mark Toering for \$211.00 Discussion began on the 2023-2024 Board Goals.

Gruys/Mouw moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:19 p.m.

Jane Loveall Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President