SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTORS REGULAR MEETING DECEMBER 9, 2024

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 5:30 p.m. in the District Office Board Room at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Sonja Hamm, Greta Gruys and Mieka Stecker. Jeromy Mouw was absent. Also present were David Smith-Superintendent, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber–Co-Board Secretaries/Treasurers, the Administration/Department Team, Officer Vos, 5 staff members, 2 visitors and 3 students.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Hamm/Gruys moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Stecker moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda including the following:

A) Minutes of the November 11 annual meeting; B) Claims for payment of \$361,900.69; C) Employment of Jill Bejarno and Hunter Campbell as ES Associate, Brady Dicks as HS Asst Boys Basketball Coach, Jeffrey Dicks as Sub/Activity Driver, Scott Whitacre as MS Associate; Transfer of Ashley Dreeszen to 6th Grade Math for FY26; Resignation of Barbara Fuelberth as Asst Drama Coach: D) Open enrollment application out for Delilah Perez to Okoboji; E) Medical Enterprises Drug & Alcohol Testing Consortium Service Agreement. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Jessica Vancura presented on Elementary focus groups. Dr. Jean Mohr gave an update on her new role in the district and the support that she can provide to staff.

Financial Report was presented by Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber.

Hamm/Stecker moved/seconded to approve the board goals for 2024-2025. The board updated their goal of facilities to strategic planning to encompass programming and facilities. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the request for a modified supplemental amount of \$108,712 for open enrolled out students who were not included in the district's previous year certified enrollment count; and \$1,643 for ELL students served beyond five years. Ayes: 4 Nays: 0. Motion carried by a vote of 4 to 0.

Stecker/Gruys moved/seconded to join the Siouxland Conference as a "Super Conference" starting in the 2026/2027 school year, and if the "Super Conference" does not come to fruition, we would join the Siouxland Conference individually starting in the 2025/2026 school year, per the Siouxland Conference memorandum, dated December 2, 2024.

Hamm/Stecker moved/seconded to approve a resolution to buy 1 route bus from School Bus Sales for \$142,433.00. Roll Call vote: Stecker, Beck, Hamm, Gruys. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the review of the 100 and 200 series of board policies. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Stecker/Gruys moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:22 p.m.

Jane Loveall Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President