SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S REGULAR MEETING DECEMBER 9, 2019

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 5:30 p.m. in the District Office Board Room at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Greta Gruys, Sonja Hamm, Kerri McKim and Scott Trautman. Also present were David Smith-Superintendent, Donna Sebert-Board Secretary, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber-Co-Directors of Business & Finance, the Administration/Department Team and 4 staff members and students.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Hamm/McKim moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda including the following: A) Minutes of the November 18 meeting; B) Claims for payment of \$348,102.44; C) Employment of Jerad Archer as HS Asst Girls Soccer Coach, Cameron Arnold & Kim Miller as MS Associates & Heidi Schneider as 9th Grade Girls Basketball Coach; D) Open enrollment applications from Estherville for Aiden & Gavin Witherspoon. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Bruinsma, Mr. Lundgren & Mr. Hoaglund presented on the Riding For Focus bike grant. The Specialized bike company awarded the middle school with a \$26,000 grant for the purchase of bikes, equipment, and curriculum.

Financial Report/Budget Update was presented by Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber.

Trautman/Gruys moved/seconded to approve request for additional spending authority in the amount of \$114,512 for increased open enrollment out and \$1,513.60 for ELL students served beyond 5 years. All aye vote. Motion carried

Dr. Smith gave a review of the parking lot, Early Childhood concept and Middle School concept. McKim/Hamm moved/seconded approval of revised board policies #202.1, #502.4, #502.11, #602.9, #702.9E1, #1004.3 with suggested revisions as presented. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Trautman moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:23 p.m.

Donna Sebert Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President