SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S SPECIAL MEETING APRIL 4, 2023

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in special session at 5:30 p.m. in the District Office Board Room at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Scott Trautman, Sonja Hamm, Kerri McKim and Greta Gruys. Also present were David Smith-Superintendent, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber Board Secretaries/Treasurers, School Attorney Steve Avery, the Administration/Department Team, 11 visitors and 1 student.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. McKim/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Scott Trautman spoke about his time on the school board and all board members thanked him for his service. Kate Mendenhall addressed the board. She encouraged the board to be transparent, involve the community, and consider a special election.

McKim/Gruys moved/seconded to accept of resignation of Scott Trautman as Board Member/Vice President of the Spirit Lake Board of Education. All aye vote. Motion carried.

The Board of Education discussed the procedure for filling the vacancy and their intention to appoint a new member. Two candidates applied for the vacancy: Luke Lundt and Jeromy Mouw. Both candidates addressed the board regarding their background and their qualities which they would bring to the school board. Jeromy Mouw then withdrew his application. He stated Luke Lundt would be a strong board member and he needed to resign from some volunteer committees first. Jeromy stated he intended to be on the ballot in the next school board election. The Board Members discussed the positives of the candidates who applied to fill the vacancy.

Gruys/Hamm moved/seconded to appoint Luke Lundt to fill the vacancy on the Spirit Lake Board of Directors until a successor is elected at the next regular or special election. All aye vote. Motion carried. Board Secretary Ashley Weber administered the Oath of Office to Luke Lundt.

Greta Gruys nominated Sonja Hamm to fulfill the role of Vice President. No other nominations were received.

Sonja Hamm was elected to fulfill the role of Vice President by a vote of 5-0. Board Secretary Ashley Weber administered the Oath of Office.

McKim/Hamm moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 5:53 p.m.

Jane Loveall Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President