SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTORS REGULAR MEETING APRIL 13, 2020

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session via a Zoom Meeting on April 13 at 5:30 p.m. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Scott Trautman, Sonja Hamm, Kerri McKim and Greta Gruys. Also present were David Smith-Superintendent, Donna Sebert-Board Secretary, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber-Co-Directors of Business & Finance, the Administration/Department Team, 6 staff members, and 1 visitor.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Trautman/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried.

McKim/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda including the following:

A) Minutes of the March 9 Public Hearing/Regular Meeting, March 16 Special Meeting, and March 26 Special Meeting; B) Claims for payment of \$433,313.20; C) Open Enrollment Application for Adrian Studer to Okoboji; D) AEA Purchasing Agreement. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Financial Report/Budget Update was presented by Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber.

Gruys/Trautman moved/seconded to approve moving the public hearing to May 11th at 5:20 PM from April 13th at 5:20 PM to allow the public the opportunity to comment on the proposed budget. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Nancy Kriener presented the Annual Progress Report. We have shared our achievement goals and data with the District Cabinet (5-15-19) and will post the data report presented on our website as the APR for the public to view.

The Board acted on recent resignations. Trautman/Gruys moved/seconded to accept the resignations of Paul Brown as Alternative Teacher, Naet Hoaglund as Head Girls Basketball Coach & Gary Kuhlman as Route Bus Driver. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the hire of Jennifer Palmer for architectural design services and Greg Kooker & Mortarless Systems Engineering Inc. for electrical, mechanical, and structural engineering services for the bus barn project. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Dr. Smith gave an update on facilities and COVID19.

McKim/Trautman moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 5:54 p.m.

Donna Sebert Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President