SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTORS REGULAR MEETING MAY 10, 2021

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 5:30 p.m. in the Middle School Commons Area at 609 28th Street. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Greta Gruys, Sonja Hamm, Kerri McKim and Scott Trautman. Also present were David Smith-Superintendent, Jane Loveall-Director of Business & Finance, Ashley Weber-Director of HR & Finance, Donna Sebert-Board Secretary, the Administration/Department Team, 4 staff members and 11 visitors.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Hamm/McKim moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried. School Board members were recognized for their service to the school district.

Hamm/McKim moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda including the following: A) Minutes of the April 12th regular meeting and April 28th special meeting; B) Claims for payment of \$731,260.42; C) Employment of: Brady Dicks as HS Asst Football Coach, Connie Goldtrap as ES Associate, Carter Hassel as 4th Grade Teacher, Paige Lynn as ES Special Education Teacher, Shannon Stolen as ECSE Teacher, and Jenna Zinnel as 1st Grade Teacher. Salary review/adjustment for Joshua Bolluyt. Transfer of: Jorden Coon to 3rd Grade Teacher, Emily Johnson to 2nd Grade Teacher, Dawn Kramer to ES Special Education Teacher, Andrew Lundgren to MS TLC Instructional Coach, Clinton Profit to Director of Technology/TLC Technology Coordinator, Todd Rogers to MS Social Studies Teacher. Resignation of: Ross Ackerman as HS Asst Boys Basketball Coach, Lisa Duffy as HS Special Education Teacher/HS Key Club Sponsor, Clinton Profit as HS Asst Football Coach, Jessica Vancura as MS Wrestling Coach, JP Walz as ES Associate. D) Open enrollment applications into Spirit Lake from Estherville for Kendra and Sophya Mattox and Eli Tim; from Lake Park for Gage Hiveley, Aubrey Thompson, Kylie Van Pelt, and Tia Van Pelt; from Okoboji for Axylle Kurpgeweit; from Spencer for Frederick Capellan and Brevyn Trotter. Open enrollment applications out to Okoboji for Maxin and Rylynn DeMuth and Harper Trosin; to Lake Park for Luther Flewelling. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Profit and Mr. Dielschneider, along with a few students, presented how virtual reality learning is working in middle school classrooms.

Financial Report/Public Report was presented by Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber.

Hamm/McKim moved/seconded approval of Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber as Board Secretaries. All aye vote. Motion carried. Teresa Beck administered the Oath of Office to Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber, Board Secretaries.

Casey O'Rourke presented the graduation & dropout rates comparison report.

McKim/Gruys moved/seconded approval of Spirit Lake High School 2021 graduates. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Dr. Smith and Dave Dau gave an update on the construction/community park projects.

Dr. Smith and Angela Olsen gave an update on COVID.

Hamm/McKim moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:20 p.m.

Jane Loveall Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President