SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTORS REGULAR MEETING JUNE 12, 2023

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 5:30 p.m. in the High School West Commons at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Greta Gruys, Sonja Hamm, Luke Lundt, and Jeromy Mouw. Also present were David Smith -Superintendent, Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber-Board Secretaries/Treasurers, School Attorney Steve Avery, the Administration/Department Team, 6 staff members, and 67 visitors.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited, and visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Hamm/Gruys moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Mouw/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda including the following: A) Minutes of the regular meeting on May 8 and the special meeting on May 22; B) Claims for payment of \$227,968.12; C) Employment of Paula Dicks as Kindergarten Teacher, James Heitzig as MS Custodian, Forrest Johnson as HS Special Education Teacher, Melanie Odegard as HS English Teacher, Mary Block, Jorden Coon, Paige Lynn, Jenna McCabe, Parker Mulder, Jamie Nebelsick, Tyler Pedersen, and Marcy Toews as Mentor Teachers; Transfer of Jodi Reinke to full-time Librarian; Resignation of Alexandra Boon as MS Associate, Robert Hartwig as MS Custodian, Tim Heinitz as HS Asst. Girls Track Coach and Head Cross Country Coach, Amanda Kassel as ECSE Associate, Elizabeth Krummen as Dual Credit Health Occupations Teacher and Nurse, Barbara Lindgren as ES Associate, Andrew Lundgren as MS TLC Instructional Coach, Head HS Boys/Girls Wrestling Coach, MS Girls Wrestling Coach, and Weight Room Supervisor; Taylor Schneider as ES Associate; Debra Thomas as HS Cook, Kathy Thompson as ES Head Cook, and Jackson Wajda as MS Associate ; D) Open enrollment applications into Spirit Lake from Spencer for Eden, Miles & Russell Bramhall; E) Student Assurance Accident Insurance. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Financial Report/Public Report was presented by Ashley Weber & Jane Loveall.

Mouw/Lundt moved/seconded approval of the Resolution Naming Depositories as presented. Roll call vote was taken. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Hamm moved/seconded approval of all registration/activity fees for 2023-2024. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Rachel Fisher presented on the benefits of the District using Bound Pro for gate admissions and increasing admission ticket prices for 2023-24.

Gruys/Mouw moved/seconded the use of Bound Pro and increasing ticket prices to \$7.00. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Angela Olsen presented the district and building goals for 2023-2024.

Mouw/Lundt moved/seconded approval of district and building goals for 2023-2024 as presented. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Rachel Fisher and Josh Bolluyt presented history pertaining to the Indian Mascot and the discussion regarding the mascot during the April 2006 board meeting. Public comment was taken. Twelve people gave comment on the Indian Mascot: Vickie Larsen, Sandy Lamoreaux, Kate Mendenhall, Kim Miller, Jaime Hunter, Barb Clayton, Meredith Hanson, Neil Slater, Marcy Bosch, Larry Wajda, Amanda Smith, and Charlene Ackerman.

Mouw/Hamm moved/seconded to keep the Indian as mascot for the Spirit Lake Schools. Motion carried by a vote of 4 to 1.

Gruys/Lundt moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:42 p.m.

Jane Loveall Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President