## SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S REGULAR MEETING JULY 12, 2021

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 5:30 p.m. in the District Office Board Room at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Scott Trautman, Sonja Hamm, Kerri McKim and Greta Gruys. Also present were David Smith-Superintendent, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber-Co-Board Secretaries/Treasurers, the Administration/Department Team and 1staff member.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Hamm/Gruys moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried.

McKim/Trautman moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda including the following:

A) Minutes of the regular meeting on June 14; B) Claims for payment of \$490,900.13; C) Employment of Jorden Coon as HS Assistant Volleyball Coach. Resignations of Connie Goldtrap as ES Associate and Maxine Jennings as HS Office Manager, Special Olympics Coordinator and Junior Class Sponsor and Cynthia Reinders as MS Cook; D) Open enrollment applications into Spirit Lake from Okoboji for Harrison and Hazel Keonin; from Graettinger-Terril for Faith Luehring. Open enrollment applications out to CAM for Luther Flewelling; out to Clayton Ridge for Kyson Soloai; E) Appointment of contact members for Equity Coordinator-Ashley Weber, 504 Coordinators-Lori Thompson/Jill Dielschneider/Natasha Nelson, Affirmative Action Coordinator-Ashley Weber, Sexual Harassment-Terry Bruinsma/Casey O'Rourke/Jane Loveall, Level One Sexual Abuse Investigator-Terry Bruinsma/Casey O'Rourke/Katy Stokke, Title I Contact-Kasey Huebner, Foster Care Contact-Lori Thompson, McKinney-Vento Homeless Education Program-Angela Olsen.

Elementary, Middle School, High School, Activities, Learning & Development, Nurse, Talented & Gifted and Technology year-end reports were reviewed by the board.

The 2021-2022 fundraiser list was presented to the board for review.

IASB 2021 Legislative Priorities were discussed.

Trautman/Hamm moved/seconded to go into closed session as per Iowa Code 21.5.1.i for purpose of the Superintendent's yearly evaluation. Roll call vote: Aye vote - McKim, Hamm, Gruys, Trautman & Beck. All aye vote. Motion carried. The Board went into closed session at 5:47 p.m.

Gruys/McKim moved/seconded to come out of closed session. Roll call vote: Aye vote - Hamm, Gruys, Trautman, Beck & McKim. All aye vote. Motion carried. The Board came out of closed session at 6:01 p.m.

Trautman/Hamm moved/seconded to approve Superintendent's FY22 Contract at a salary of \$194,786 and vacation days at 28 with carryover of 14 allowed. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Hamm/Trautman moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:03 p.m.

Jane Loveall Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President