SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S REGULAR MEETING JULY 13, 2020

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 5:30 p.m. in the District Office Board Room at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Scott Trautman, Sonja Hamm, Kerri McKim and Greta Gruys. Also present were David Smith- Superintendent, Donna Sebert-Board Secretary, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber-Co-Directors of Business & Finance, the Administration/Department Team and 4 staff members and 5 visitors.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Hamm/McKim moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Trautman moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda including the following:

A) Minutes of the regular meeting on June 8; B) Claims for payment of \$860,768.84; C) Resignations of Jerad Archer as HS Ass. Girls Soccer, Matti Mitchell & Morgan Hoaglund as HS Co-Drill Team, Naethan Hoaglund as MS TAG/Electives Teacher, Ben Sedlacek as Speech Coach, Amy Stover as Reading Interventionist; D) Open enrollment applications from Okoboji for Harriet Mendenhall-Borus & Duke Doxtad and to Okoboji for Olivia, Eva, Ella & Noah DeRuyter; E)Appointment of contact members for Equity Coordinator-Ashley Weber, 504 Coordinators-Lori Thompson/Jill Dielschneider/Natasha Nelson, Affirmative Action Coordinator-Donna Sebert, Sexual Harassment-Terry Bruinsma/Casey O'Rourke/Jane Loveall, Level One Sexual Abuse Investigator-Terry Bruinsma/Casey O'Rourke/Katy Stokke, Title I Contact-Kasey Huebner, Foster Care Contact-Lori Thompson, McKinney-Vento Homeless Education Program-Angela Olsen.

Elementary, Middle School, High School, Activities, Learning & Development, Nurse, Talented & Gifted and Technology year-end reports were reviewed by the board.

The 2020-2021 fundraiser list was presented to the board for review.

Trautman/Hamm moved/seconded approval of Board Policy update in 506.5R3 – Epi-Pen Medication Regulations as presented. All aye vote. Motion carried.

IASB 2020 Legislative Priorities were discussed.

Dr. Smith and building principals presented information on plans for 2020-2021 learning, return to learn and COVID.

Trautman/McKim moved/seconded to go into closed session as per Iowa Code 21.5.1.i for purpose of the Superintendent's yearly evaluation. Roll call vote: Aye vote-Beck, McKim, Hamm, Gruys & Trautman. All aye vote. Motion carried. The Board went into closed session at 6:27 p.m.

Trautman/Hamm moved/seconded to come out of closed session. Roll call vote: Aye vote- McKim, Hamm, Gruys, Trautman & Beck. All aye vote. Motion carried. The Board came out of closed session at 6:40 p.m.

McKim/Hamm moved/seconded to approve Superintendent's FY21 Contract at a salary to remain at \$185,400 and vacation days at 28 with carryover of 14 allowed. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/McKim moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:45 p.m.

Donna Sebert Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President