SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S REGULAR MEETING AUGUST 10, 2020

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 5:30 p.m. in the High School Media Center at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Scott Trautman, Sonja Hamm, Kerri McKim and Greta Gruys. Also present were David Smith- Superintendent, Donna Sebert-Board Secretary, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber-Co-Directors of Business & Finance, the Administration/Department Team, 11 staff members, 4 students and 52 visitors.

Prior to calling the meeting to order, President Teresa Beck invited any visitors who wished to address the board to fill out the Intent to Address the Board form.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Trautman/McKim moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Hamm/Gruys moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda including the following:

A) Minutes of the regular meeting on July 13 & work session on August 3; B) Claims for payment of \$1,596,831.14; C) Employment of Stephanie Beck, Amy Bergman, Scott Newell as ES Associates, Emily Johnson as 1st grade teacher, Amy Kueper as HS Lg Group/Ind. Speech Coach and Mackenzie Thate as HS Drill Team Coach; Resignations of Megan Bezdicek as HS Science Teacher, Scott Dodge as Co-Head Boys' Soccer Coach, David Halsrud as Sub Bus Driver, Yvonne Leemkuil, Jennifer Larson as Associates, Lori Murphy as MS/ES Asst Cook & Madeleine Walsh as Asst. Show Choir Director; D) Open enrollment applications from Estherville for Hailee Klemmensen, Gabrielle, Christina, Hannah, & Elizabeth Schacherer, from Okoboji for Lily Bjornstad, Lilly Every, Swayzi & Wylie Hanson, Maria Jimenez & Evelyn Kassel, from Spencer for Kiela Pohl & from G-T for Kayley, Mason, & Sophia Owen; E)Agreement for YMCA Programs; F) ILCC Contract for 4+ Transitional Services at ILCC; G) Football, Volleyball & Cross Country Official Contracts for 2020-2021; H) ILCC Sharing Agreement for Career Connect Programs/Courses.

Financial Report/Budget Update was presented by Ashley Weber & Jane Loveall.

Trautman/McKim moved/seconded to approve a pay increase to \$120/day for bus route drivers. Activity driver rates will remain the same. All vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Hamm moved/seconded to approve Student Handbooks for 2020-2021 as presented.

Hamm/Trautman moved/seconded to approve the resolution to transfer funds from the school's general fund to the student activity fund for purchase of protective and safety equipment required for any extracurricular athletics. Roll call vote was taken. All aye vote. Motion carried.

McKim/Hamm moved/seconded to approve trade of MS band instruments to Midell Music as presented. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/Gruys moved/seconded to approve the milk bid with DFA Dairy Brands. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Dr. Smith presented the Return to School Plan developed by our district teams after gathering data and input from staff, parents, community resources and a board work session. President Teresa Beck offered any late comers an opportunity to fill out the intent to address the board form. Six visitors addressed the board regarding COVID and Return to Learn plans. Following board discussion, Beck made a motion to approve the Return to School Plan with all students PK-12 and staff required to wear masks on busses and in hallways and recommended masks for PK-12 students and staff when moving in the classroom. When social distancing (closer than 6 feet for 15 minutes) is not possible, the teacher may direct students to wear a mask. Motion was seconded by Hamm. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/McKim moved/seconded approval of revised board policies with the updates due to COVID-19 and our District's Return to Learn Plan as presented. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Hamm/Trautman moved/seconded approval of the Board Policy update in #203.2 – Board of Directors' Conflict of Interest with the suggested revision as presented. All aye vote. Motion carried.

McKim/Hamm moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:48 p.m.

Donna Sebert Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President