SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S REGULAR MEETING SEPTEMBER 11, 2023

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 5:30 p.m. in the District Office Board Room at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Sonja Hamm and Greta Gruys. Jeromy Mouw called in. Luke Lundt was absent. Also present were David Smith-Superintendent, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber–Co-Board Secretaries/Treasurers, the Administration/Department Team, Officer Vos, 3 staff member and 5 visitors.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Hamm/Gruys moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda including the following:

A) Minutes of the work session and regular meeting on August 14; B) Claims for payment of \$323,952.52; C) Employment of Matthew Coy as HS Girls Assistant Basketball Coach, Haley Barber as HS Associate, Lisa Baxter, Colleen Meyer, Heather Rosendahl, and Neala Thomsen as Cooks, Ingrid Giere, and Jackie Jerge as ES Associates, Mary Jones as MS Associate, and Christopher Plendl as Substitute/activity driver; Transfer of Jenifer Clipperton to Head Cook; Resignations of Terry Butler as 7th Grade Boys Basketball coach and Sabrina Sheeler as ES Associate; D) Open enrollment applications into Spirit Lake from Estherville for Jose Corado, Adeline Edwards, Teah Graves, Liam Kaltved, Isabella Nelson, Emery Peta, Izabela Riparetti, and Holden Tendal; from Lake Park for Seraphina, Jaxzen, and Zev Gerdeman, Gabriella and Deagan Hurtig and Rebecca Shako; from Okoboji for Oliver Alsbury, Caleb Brakenhoff, Alexzandria Brotherton, Liam Dorsey, Brooklyn Fauth, Brynn Herrig, Olive and Oliver Jensen, Tyler Merryman, Madeline Meyer and Isabelle Sandy; from Sibley-Ocheyedan for Bryson and Katelyn Bosman, Izaak and Parker Hulley, and James Wingert; from Spencer for Isabella and Nova Bell, and Armani Scott; out to Okoboji for Nia Halstead, Veyda Jungers, Laurel Webber, and Gianna Zarro; E) Contract Modifications for teachers. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Mrs. Coon and Mrs. Peta gave an update on the new 3rd grade interactive science curriculum.

Financial Report/Budget Update was presented by Ashley Weber and Jane Loveall.

Mouw/Gruys moved/seconded to approve District Cabinet/School Improvement Advisory

Committee Members – Dr. David Smith, Angela Olsen, Casey O'Rourke, Terry Bruinsma, Jessica Vancura, Jane Loveall, Ashley Weber, Sonja Hamm, Kim Sierck, Cathy Kuker, Marcy Toews, Carol Fordyce, Terry Butler, Dave Frostestad, Jenna McCabe, Lucas Doxtad, Doug Stueven, Jason Eygabroad, Brett Johnson, Jessica Marx, Amanda Smith, Anthony Stecker, Addison Avery, Will Graves, Aidan Holdorf, Abby Scott, Dietrich Dirks, Carter Trautman, Carly Farmer, CeCe Harris & Sam Van Genderen. All aye vote. Motion Carried.

Hamm/Gruys moved/seconded to approve Resolution for disposal of 2000 Thomas Bus and public hearing on October 9 at 5:25 PM. Roll call vote was taken. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Hamm moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 5:49 p.m.

Jane Loveall Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President