SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S REGULAR MEETING SEPTEMBER 12, 2022

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 5:30 p.m. in the High School West Commons at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Greta Gruys, Sonja Hamm (call-in), Kerri McKim and Scott Trautman. Also present were David Smith-Superintendent, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber- Co-Board Secretaries/Treasurers, Steve Avery-Legal Counsel, the Administration/Department Team, 4 staff members and 18 visitors.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Trautman/McKim moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Trautman moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda including the following:

A) Minutes of the regular meeting on August 8 and special meeting on August 22; B) Claims for payment of \$688,568.60; C) Employment of Dana Bolluyt as Junior Class Sponsor, Terry Butler as MS Volleyball Coach, George Call, Deborah Minnich and Lisa Mulhern as Cooks, Lindsay Carlson as HS Assistant Drama, Joan Clark and Colin Suggitt as ES Associates, Christine Gerdes as MS Associate, Katie Kneifl as HS Assistant Softball Coach, and Serena Lynch as HS Assistant Speech Coach; Resignations of Scott Chambers and Alan Ditsworth as HS Assistant Softball Coach, Dawn Rasmussen, Neala Thomsen, and Vivian Worrick as Cooks and John Tuttle as HS Assistant Wrestling Coach; D) Open enrollment applications into Spirit Lake from CCE for Colt and Kiari Halsrud, from Estherville for Kesler Allen, Taryn Blaue, Alexiah Contreras, Michael Fifield, Keeley Hesebeck, Taylor Triggs and Trinity Woodyard, from Lake Park for Kayelin Hagen, Athena, Emma and Temperance Huff, Ruger Kelly, Isaac Kramer and Nahlia, Tavis and Toren Urwin, from Okoboji for Jaxon Alimena, Alana and Ava Atherton, Gideon Brakenhoff, Brooke Kardell, Brendan Kassel, Terrence Owen, and Aidan Toillion; out to Estherville for Derek Parra, to Okoboji for Kayleigh Belseth, Nova & Samantha Clark, Francesca Clauson, Ethan Frederick, Ava Lien, Abel & Lovah Parrett, Deacon Reynolds, Trinity Salazar, Eric Schlenger, and Jace & Vada Tech; E) Contract Modifications for teachers. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Bruinsma and middle school staff presented on their new outdoor education event - School of the Wild. McKim/Gruys moved/seconded to approve Superintendent Job Targets for 2022-2023 as presented. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Financial Report/Budget Update was presented by Ashley Weber and Jane Loveall.

Trautman/McKim moved/seconded to approve the Champion State of Mind Partnership contract. Through this partnership, Spirit Lake Schools will receive mental health/substance abuse services through a provider from this agency at no cost to the district. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/Gruys moved/seconded to approve adding Girls Wrestling Coach position to Schedule B. All aye vote. Motion carried.

McKim/Trautman moved/seconded to approve District Cabinet/School Improvement Advisory Committee Members – Dr. David Smith, Angela Olsen, Casey O'Rourke, Terry Bruinsma, Kasey Huebner, Jane Loveall, Ashley Weber, Sonja Hamm, Kim Sierck, Cathy Kuker, Marcy Toews, Carol Fordyce, Terry Butler, Dave Frostestad, Jenna McCabe, Lucas Doxtad, Doug Stueven, Jason Eygabroad, Brett Johnson, Jessica Marx, Amanda Smith, Anthony Stecker, Jake Cornwall, Abbie Oleson, Catherine Straus, Addison Avery, Will Graves, Aidan Holdorf, Abby Scott, Dietrich Dirks, Carter Trautman & Carly Farmer. All aye vote. Motion Carried.

Gruys/Trautman moved/seconded to approve disposal of HS band instruments to Midbell Music. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Teresa Beck presented the Authorization for Firearms on School Grounds Resolution. Kate Mendenhall and Jamie Hunter addressed the board regarding the resolution. Discussion was held in regards to passing the resolution or holding off and completing additional research. Trautman/McKim moved/seconded to approve the resolution allowing the Superintendent to select ten or fewer individuals to be armed with a firearm on

school grounds for the lawful purpose of protecting students and staff as authorized in Iowa Code 724.4B (2) (a). Those selected shall not be classroom teachers. Roll call vote was taken. All aye vote. Motion carried.

McKim/Gruys moved/seconded to update Board Policy 502.5 to allow for staff members designated by the Superintendent to be armed with a firearm on school grounds per Iowa Code 724.4B (2)(a). All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/Gruys moved/seconded to update Board Policy 506.8 to include a plan for other emergency drills. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/Gruys moved/seconded update to Board Policy 204.1 to state that policies of the Board may be amended or revised at any meeting through a motion/resolution. All aye vote. Motion carried.

McKim/Gruys moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:42 p.m.

Jane Loveall Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President