SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S REGULAR MEETING SEPTEMBER 13, 2021

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 5:30 p.m. in the District Office Board Room at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Greta Gruys, Sonja Hamm, Kerri McKim and Scott Trautman. Also present were David Smith-Superintendent, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber- Co-Board Secretaries/Treasurers, the Administration/Department Team, 5 staff members, 2 students and 4 visitors.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Hamm/Gruys moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried.

McKim/Trautman moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda including the following:

A) Minutes of the regular meeting on August 9; B) Claims for payment of \$439,505.01;

C) Employment of Jenifer Clipperton, Tina Palait & Dawn Rasmussen as MS Cooks, Jackie Jerge & Melinda Mueller as ES Associates, Luke Miller as 8th Football Coach, and Chad Wheatley as Maintenance Assistant; Resignations of Christine Gerdes as MS Associate, Robert Huls as Activity/Substitute Route Driver, Jennifer Leininger as HS Cook, Scott Newel as ES Associate; D) Open enrollment applications into Spirit Lake from Lake Park for Aaron Kiner, from Estherville for Grace Schacherer & Samuel Hibma, from Okoboji for Bailee & Tucker Krusen, Nolan & Taryn Cherland, and Gabriella Hurtig, and from Spencer for Journie Amendolare; out to CAM for Madeline Meyer; E) Contract Modifications for teachers. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Huebner shared information about the elementary becoming an Energy Bus School.

Travis Squires from Piper Sandler discussed bond refunding.

Trautman/Hamm moved/seconded Resolution to set the date/time for a public hearing at 5:20 p.m. on October 11,2021 for the issuance of not to exceed \$2,000,000 school infrastructure sales, services and use tax revenue refunding bonds. Roll call vote was taken. All aye vote. Motion Carried.

Gruys/McKim moved/seconded to approve the Resolution to approve engagement of professionals related to the issuance of not to exceed \$2,000,000 school infrastructure sales, services and use tax revenue refunding bonds. Roll call vote was taken. All aye vote. Motion Carried.

Financial Report/Budget Update was presented by Ashley Weber and Jane Loveall.

Trautman/Gruys moved/seconded to approve District Cabinet/School Improvement Advisory Committee Members – Dr. David Smith, Angela Olsen, Casey O'Rourke, Terry Bruinsma, Kasey Huebner, Jane Loveall, Ashley Weber, Sonja Hamm, Kim Sierck, Cathy Kuker, Marcy Toews, Carol Fordyce, Terry Butler, Dave Frostestad, Emily Bormann, Lucas Doxtad, Doug Stueven, Jason Eygabroad, Brett Johnson, Jessica Marx, Amanda Smith, Anthony Stecker, Ben Fisher, Nico Pitsilos, Brooke Smith, Jake Cornwall, Abbie Oleson, Catherine Straus, Addison Avery, Will Graves, Abby Scott & Dietrich Dirks. All aye vote. Motion Carried.

Hamm/McKim moved/seconded to approve a high school core diploma and the corresponding high school handbook change as presented. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/Gruys moved/seconded to approve update to Board Policy #505.1 to include the high school core diploma as presented. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Dau gave an update on construction progress.

Mrs. Olsen gave an update on COVID procedures/learning and led a discussion on COVID related topics. Hamm/Trautman moved/seconded to approve Superintendent Job Targets for 2021-2022 as presented. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/McKim moved/seconded to adjourn. All ave vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:38 p.m.

Jane Loveall Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President