SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S REGULAR MEETING SEPTEMBER 9, 2019

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 5:30 p.m. in the District Office Board Room at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Keith Brockmeyer, Sonja Hamm, Kerri McKim and Scott Trautman. Also present were David Smith-Superintendent, Donna Sebert-Board Secretary, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber-Co-Directors of Business & Finance, the Administration/Department Team, 6 staff members and 1 visitor.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Trautman/McKim moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried. Hamm/Brockmeyer moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda including the following:

- A) Minutes of the regular meeting on August 12; B) Claims for payment of \$363,641.72;
- C) Employment of Patricia Brandt as Quiz Bowl Coach, Maxine Jennings as Special Olympics Coordinator, Lexie Davis as MS Associate, Alyssa Eisenbacher, Emily Lowery, Tina Luehring & Frankie Ramos as ES Associates, Amy Kueper as PreK Associate, Cynthia Jensen as HS Associate, Dana Bolluyt, Roland Schmidt & Morgan Zenor as Teacher Leader Mentors and David Frostestad as District Leadership Team; D) Open enrollment applications into Spirit Lake from Okoboji for Heavenly Ragsdale, Claire, Ella, Josie & Luke Turner, from HMS for Chelsea & Danielle Rinkoski & from HLP for Dakota Thomas and out to Estherville for Liam & Athena Wall, to Okoboji for James Johnson, Cade & Maxwell Kuchel, Rylan Runkle & Aidan Seivert and to Clayton Ridge Iowa Virtual Academy for Amanda Daniels; E) Contract Modifications for Teachers; F) ILCC Sharing Agreement for Career Connect Programs/Courses. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Huebner, Mrs. Dau & Mrs. Kramer presented on the Pre-K program including full day & half day programs along with integration of ESCE into the preschool.

Financial Report/Budget Update as presented.

Brockmeyer/McKim moved/seconded to approve District Cabinet/School Improvement Advisory Committee Members – Dr. David Smith, Nancy Kriener, Casey O'Rourke, Kasey Huebner, Terry Bruinsma, Donna Sebert, Sonja Hamm, Cathy Kuker, Kim Sierck, Marcy Toews, Carol Fordyce, Terry Butler, Dave Frostestad, Tera Friederich, Lucas Doxtad, Doug Stueven, Tina Vandehoef, Greg Jenness, Jill Longest, Brett Johnson, Justin Latham, Jessica Marx, Jason Eygabroad, Amanda Smith, Gavin Harms, Jessie Longest, Karli Olsen, Hope Johnson, Nico Pitsilos, Ben Fisher, Catherine Straus, Abbie Oleson & Dawson Kuker, All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/Hamm moved/seconded to approve Superintendent Goals for 2019-2020 as presented. All aye vote. Motion carried.

McKim/Hamm moved/seconded to approve new board policies #200-Legal Status of School District and #202-Authority of Board of Directors and Board Members as presented. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Brockmeyer/Hamm moved/seconded approval of revised board policies #406.2 & #601.1 with suggested revisions as presented. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Trautman/McKim moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 5:56 p.m.

Donna Sebert Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President