SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTORS REGULAR MEETING MAY 12, 2025

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 5:30 p.m. in the District Office Board Room at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Sonja Hamm, Greta Gruys, Jeromy Mouw (call-in at 6:18 p.m.) and Mieka Stecker. Also present were David Smith-Superintendent, Jane Loveall & Ashley Weber-Board Secretaries/Treasurers, Officer Vos the Administration/Department Team, 3 visitors, 3 staff members, and 4 students.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Hamm/Gruys moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried.

School Board members were recognized for their service to the school district.

Stecker/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda including the following: A) Minutes of the March 26th work session, the April 14th public hearing/regular meeting and the April 14th special meeting; B) Claims for payment of \$184,995.58; C) Employment of Krysta Coy as HS Quiz Bowl Coach; Rachelle Gewecke as HS Asst. Drama Coach; Luke Miller as HS Large Group and Individual Speech Coach; Marlene Johnson as ES Special Education Teacher; David Rubis as MS Special Education Teacher; Emily Brown, Jana Christians, Paula Dicks, Lauren Hartwig, Olivia McDermott, Karli Olsen and Hailey Rozeboom as Building Leaders; Krysta Coy, Matt Coy, Kayla Cunningham, Robert Cunningham, Paula Dicks and Stephanie Walhof as Mentor Teachers; Resignations of Kali Cross as ES Associate; Kristan Glade as HS Custodian; Cindy Hilpipre as Nurse; Douglas Johnson as ES Lead Custodian; Marlene Nelson as ES Associate and Darla Pyletski as HS Lead Custodian; D) Open enrollment applications into Spirit Lake from Estherville for Declan & Meirah O'Tool; from Okoboji for Madeline Meyer; Open enrollment applications out to Okoboji for James, Landen & Sophia Schade; E) Iowa Local Government Risk Pool Natural Gas Program Participation Agreement; F) ILCC Career Connect Contract for 2025-26; G) FY26 SRO Contract with the City of Spirit Lake; H) Clay-Dickinson+ Perkins Consortium Contract for Academic Years 2025-2028. All ave vote. Motion carried.

Benson Zheng shared information about his landscaping project in the high school courtyard. Financial Report/Public Report was presented by Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber.

Gruys/Stecker moved/seconded to approve membership in the Iowa Lakes Corridor in the amount of \$2,500. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Stecker/Gruys moved/seconded to approve distribution of the Education Support Personnel Salary Supplement to hourly employees based on FTE times \$455. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Stecker/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the Spirit Lake High School 2025 graduates list. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Jeromy Mouw joined the meeting by phone.

Gruys/Hamm moved/seconded to approve the HR Sharing Agreement with ELC for FY26 for 1 year. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Mouw/Gruys moved/seconded to approve sharing agreements with Dickinson County Community Services, Juvenile Court Services, Lakes Regional Healthcare, and Iowa Department of Health and Human Services to effectively communicate and problem solve student situations. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Hamm/Stecker moved seconded to approve the Strategic Planning Vision & Action Steps. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Stecker moved seconded to approve the Strategic Plan Progress Report. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Hamm/Stecker moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:39 p.m.

Jane Loveall Board Secretary Teresa Beck Board President