SPIRIT LAKE COMMUNITY SCHOOL BOARD OF DIRECTORS REGULAR MEETING JUNE 9, 2025

The Spirit Lake Community School Board of Directors met in regular session at 5:30 p.m. in the District Office Boardroom at 2701 Hill Avenue. Present were board members Teresa Beck, Sonja Hamm, Greta Gruys, Jeromy Mouw and Mieka Stecker. Also present were David Smith - Superintendent, Jane Loveall and Ashley Weber-Board Secretaries/Treasurers, the Administration/Department Team, Officer Vos, 4 visitors and 1 staff member.

President Teresa Beck called the meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited, and visitors were recognized and welcomed.

Hamm/Gruys moved/seconded to approve the agenda. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Mouw/Stecker moved/seconded to approve the consent agenda including the following:

A) Minutes of the regular meeting on May 12; B) Claims for payment of \$219,248.77; C) Employment of Chloe Cink as MS Special Education Teacher, Macy Cornwall as Nurse, Corissa DeArmond as EL/Interventionist Teacher, Brynn Olson as HS Custodian, Tyler Reck as MS Football Coach and Juan Trinidad as EL Teacher and Asst Boys Soccer Coach; Resignation of Carol Anderson as ES Associate; FY26 salary increases for Brady Dicks, Jane Loveall, Jason Olson, Jessica Vancura and Ashley Weber; D) Open Enrollment applications into Spirit Lake from Graettinger-Terril for Liam and Western Bennington; E) Student Assurance Accident Insurance. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Financial Report/Public Report was presented by Ashley Weber & Jane Loveall.

Gruys/Hamm moved/seconded approval of the Resolution Naming Depositories as presented. Roll call vote was taken. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Hamm/Stecker moved/seconded approval of all registration/activity fees for 2025-2026. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Mouw/Gruys moved/seconded to approve the addition of credit cards as an Infinite Campus payment option including a 4% processing fee. All aye vote. Motion carried.

The board held a discussion about the opportunity to join the Storm Protection fund 28E. The SPF was developed as a cost-effective way for districts to support each other by creating a pooled loss fund to pay for participants' 1% wind/hail deductible. The board decided to research and pursue a self-funding option and wait for the FY26 EMC renewal documents. A special meeting will be called before the June 27 participation deadline if the district should choose to join the SPF after receiving the EMC renewal.

Casey O'Rourke presented the graduation & dropout rates comparison report.

Angela Olsen shared the Annual Progress Report.

Mouw/Stecker moved/seconded to approve the course requirements for graduation, increasing J-Term credits from 1.5 to 2. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Mouw/Gruys moved/seconded to approve updating board policy 505.3 on course requirements. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Hamm/Stecker moved/seconded to approve the 2025-2026 Student Handbooks. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Hamm moved/seconded to approve updates to the Board Policies -400 Series. 4 ayes -1 nay (Mouw) Motion carried.

Dr. Smith gave an update on the Strategic Plan Progress Report.

Mouw/Stecker moved/seconded to approve the \$500,000 bid for the Elementary playground. All aye vote. Motion carried.

Gruys/Hamm moved/seconded to adjourn. All aye vote. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:55 p.m.

Jane Loveall
Board Secretary

Teresa Beck Board President